5 Minutes with our Industrial Trainee, Sarmila

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Sarmila Loganathan, and I’m 22 years old from Ipoh, a city known for its cultural attractions and unique landscape, such as the limestone hills and caves. Currently, I’m a final year student at Universiti Malaya, pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Biohealth. My choice of course reflects my longstanding interest in research. Taking my first step into this field, I embarked on a final year internship project at Cancer Research Malaysia (CRMY) within the Translational Cancer Biology research unit. Through this experience, I was able to apply my academic knowledge and acquire valuable insights and skills under the guidance of experienced scientists.

Q: What sparked your interest in pursuing a career in science and becoming a scientist?

My passion for understanding how living things function, particularly in Biology, sparked my interest to become a scientist. I’m drawn to the idea of exploring the unknown, contributing to the growth of knowledge and making a positive difference in the world through scientific discovery. What excites me about science is the joy of discovering answers, solving puzzles, and being part of a community committed to understanding the wonders of the natural world. For me, science is an endless adventure, a journey to uncover the secrets of life.

Q: What influenced your decision to undertake your industrial training at Cancer Research Malaysia?

I decided to do my industrial training at Cancer Research Malaysia (CRMY) because of its expertise in cancer research. With my interest in cancer and academic background, I was drawn to the Translational Cancer Biology (TCB) team. This team allows me to connect laboratory findings with practical applications. Working with experienced scientists and contributing to meaningful research aligns perfectly with my career goals, making CRMY the ideal place for my internship.

Translational Cancer Biology Sub team Meeting

Q: Could you take us through your first day at Cancer Research Office office in Subang Jaya?

My first day was informative and engaging. I met with Azmaliza from HR where she showed me a video presentation that provides valuable insights into the organisation. Following that, Azim from IT and Facilities Unit conducted a fire safety briefing to ensure a safe work environment.
I also had the opportunity to meet Dr. Annie Chai, Deputy Head of TCB, who introduced me to the science unit researchers and helped me get acquainted with the team. Yee Pei San, the Senior Researcher, gave me a tour of the laboratories, highlighting key facilities. The day concluded with a meeting where I learned about TCB’s projects and discussed tasks for the attachment period. Overall, this introduction set a positive tone for my internship, providing a clear understanding of CRMY’s operations and expectations.

Q: Over the past 3 months, what significant lessons or skills have you acquired?

During my 3-month internship at Cancer Research Malaysia (CRMY), I focused on the ADAR1 project from October 2, 2023, to January 7, 2024. Working with Dr. Annie Wai Yeeng Chai and Ms. Yee Pei San in the Translational Cancer Biology (TCB) unit, I picked up various skills like handling cell cultures, performing experiments, and analyzing data. The teamwork at CRMY helped me understand cancer research methods better and I feel I’ve grown both personally and professionally. Apart from learning these practical skills, I also attended TCB and Cancer Research Malaysia (CRMY) meetings, did some reading and gave presentations, which added to my overall experience and helped me grow in different ways.

Sarmila checking ADAR1 expression in MOC lines

Q: Have these experiences altered your perspective on life and if so, in what ways?

Without a doubt, these experiences have greatly changed my perspective on life. Being part of cancer research at Cancer Research Malaysia (CRMY) has taught me a lot about science and made me really respect how tough people can be when they’re dealing with health issues. Witnessing the collaborative efforts of researchers has inspired me to pursue a greater purpose and dedicate myself to making meaningful contributions to scientific progress.

Q: How would you encourage young people to study science?

I would encourage the young folks to study science by highlighting that it opens so many incredible opportunities and it gives you a chance to make a real difference. Through scientific exploration, we uncover the beauty of nature, grasp the complex workings involved, and find solutions to tough challenges. Activities such as hands-on workshops, science exhibitions, career exploration sessions, and educational outings can spark a passion for experimentation and equip students to make knowledgeable choices about pursuing science in their future.

Q: What are your upcoming plans for the near future?

I’m looking to pursue a fast-track PhD to enhance my understanding of Cancer Biology. My aim is to contribute to scientific knowledge through advanced research. Ultimately, I see myself becoming a lecturer and researcher, where I can inspire others with my passion for learning and contribute to the academic and scientific community. This path allows me to nurture the next generation of scientists and make meaningful contributions to advancing knowledge in this field.

Q: What are the achievements and life goals you’re looking to pursue?

I look forward to contributing to cutting-edge research, publishing impactful scientific papers, and present at prestigious conferences. My goal is to become a respected figure in the scientific community, known for my contributions to Cancer Biology. Furthermore, I aspire to mentor and motivate emerging scientists, nurturing a culture of collaboration and innovation in our research endeavors.

Sarmila (2nd from right) with the CRMY science team

Q: If given the opportunity, would you consider returning to join the CRMY team?

Sure, if given the opportunity, I would gladly consider returning to join the CRMY team. My internship there was really valuable and I appreciated the supportive atmosphere. It’s a great place for me to grow my skills and help with cancer research. I’m genuinely excited about the possibility of continuing my journey with CRMY and being part of their impactful work.

Sarmila is part of a group of interns who share a strong love for science, inspiring interest in science subjects for the next generation.

If you share our passion for nurturing local talent to develop the next generation of scientists, please support us. Every cent counts and there is no such thing as a small donation.

On the Donation page, under Step 3 > How did you hear about us? Please select ‘Blogpost’ from the dropdown options.

Follow us on Instagram

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started