5 minutes with Nurhannah, our industrial trainee

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Nurhannah Nabyllah binti Ramizan and I’m originally from Kulai, Johor but currently residing in the Klang Valley area. I recently graduated from Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) where I majored in Cell and Molecular Biology. During my time at university, I developed a strong interest in medical research and I was eager to pursue a career in this field.

Q: What inspired you to become a scientist?

My persistent childhood curiosity of course! That was the driving force behind my relentless quest for answers to every question. Science, with its structured approach to exploration, not only satisfied that curiosity but also sparked a passion for the process of discovery, making me determined to follow a career as a scientist. This path allows me to continually seek new knowledge and contribute to the science world.

Q: Why did you choose to do your industrial training at CRMY?

I decided to pursue my training programme at CRMY when an unexpected occurrence happened during my final year research project at UPM, under the guidance of Dr. Mas Jaffri Masarudin. While conducting a literature review for this project, I came across a publication by CRMY that immediately caught my attention. The content of the publication intrigued me and I was drawn to CRMY’s vision and objectives. I believed that joining this team would not only encourage my personal and career growth but also align with my career path in this field. As I dive deeper into their work, I applied for the industrial traineeship during my fourth year of studies, motivated to contribute to and learn about cancer research and their scientists.

Q: Can you walk us through your first day of orientation at CRMY’s UM lab?

On my very first day at UM, I made sure to arrive 30 minutes early. While waiting for the orientation briefing, I looked for a place to sit down and relax within the building. To my surprise, I bumped into Dr Lim Kue Peng, Head of Cancer Immunology & Immunotherapy, who recognised me and invited me into the office. It was there that I had the pleasure of being introduced to the rest of the team before embarking on a tour of the laboratory. I had never been to a research lab in this industry before, which is why I was excited to experience it in person for the first time. I was particularly captivated by the flow cytometry machine, a device I had only previously encountered in coursework. Dr. Lim also took the time to provide me with an overview of the exciting research projects underway at CRMY. Shortly after, I settled down for a virtual onboarding session with the HR team in Subang Jaya, and then transitioned to a meeting with my direct supervisor, Gan Chai Phei, who is currently working on a project involving CRMY’s in-house cancer vaccine.

Q: What have you learned over the past 4 months?

Image 1: Results of IHC staining on positive control tissue before optimization.

It’s amazing how much one can learn within 4 months in a fast-paced environment. One significant area of growth has been my understanding of cancer immunotherapies, which I’ve acquired through an extensive literature review. My time at this research institute has taught me how to work effectively within a team and keep pace with the rapid nature of scientific work.

Image 2: Results of IHC staining on positive control after optimization, with the guidance and suggestions from the whole CIIT team.

My laboratory skills have significantly improved as I’ve taken on more responsibility and worked with greater independence. With this increased autonomy, I’ve become more confident in conducting experiments such as immunohistochemistry. These experiments come with their own set of challenges that cannot be avoided. However, I viewed them as learning opportunities and received guidance not only from my supervisor but also from various scientists across different departments. My journey here has deepened my knowledge and helped me develop enhanced interpersonal and professional skills.

Q: Did it change you in any way or do you look at things/life differently?

I was fortunate to spend my final semester at CMRY as it brought about some meaningful changes. It served as a bridge between my student life and transitioning into the adult working world. It was during that time I had the chance to reflect on who I wanted to be and the direction I wanted to take in my life. My experience at CRMY has helped me gain a clearer sense of purpose. Observing and being part of their meaningful work inspired me to set new career goals. I’m now working towards a path that aligns with these goals, which has given me a fresh perspective on life.

Q: How would you encourage the youth to study science?

I think it’s important to make science as approachable and engaging as possible in order to inspire young people to pursue this subject. This could be achieved by translating fascinating scientific discoveries into straightforward, understandable explanations that pique their curiosity. Moreover, we need to stop stereotyping that science is only meant for smart students. Instead, we should support young students who show an interest in science, allowing them to explore and cultivate their passion for the subject. By making science exciting and inclusive, we can inspire young people to study and succeed in this field.

Hannah working in the laboratory

Q: What is your next plan for the near future?

In the near future, if all goes according to plan, I would like to continue my studies in the field of cancer immunology. Currently, I am working as a research assistant in immunology at the National Institutes of Health. Through this role, I can gather valuable firsthand experience and expand my knowledge in the field prior to my continued academic journey.

Q: What do you want to achieve and what are your life goals?

I aspire to be an active member of the research community and make meaningful contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge. My goal is to play a role in developing therapeutic strategies that are both highly effective and accessible to a wide range of people. Through these efforts, I hope to ultimately enhance the quality of life for people globally, leaving a positive and lasting impact on society.

Q: Given the chance, would you come back and join the CRMY team?

Absolutely! If given the opportunity, I would gladly return to join CRMY team again. After furthering my studies and gaining more experience as a researcher, I hope to make a more significant contribution to the organisation.

Hannah is one of many successful industrial trainees who have a deep passion for science and instil an interest in science subjects for the new generation.

If you share our passion for nurturing local talent to develop the next generation of scientists, please support us. Every cent counts and there is no such thing as a small donation.

On the Donation page, under Step 3 > How did you hear about us? Please select ‘Blogpost’ from the dropdown options.

Follow us on Instagram

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started